Mrs. F. Matthews, B.A. (S.S.)

H.J. Pienaar, M.Sc. (Stell.)

A. Small, B.A. (Hons.) (U.C.T.)

Transferred to the Coloured College

Mrs. C.L.C.S. Nyembezi

Mrs. E.L. Pretorius

Lecturer in mathematics Lecturer in Philosophy & Politics

Library Assistant

Principal's Secretary

Nursing Sister

TOTAL ..... P.T.O. ...../

## UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF FORT HARE

1. Legislation passed in 1959 removed the control of the University College of Fort Hare from the Department of Education, Arts and Science to the Department of Bantu Education as from 1st January 1960.

The Senate and the Governing Council of the University College of Fort Hare had consistently and strenuously opposed such transfer of the control of the College. This Council which represented the interests of those who had built up the College has been entirely ignored and a new Council has been arbitrarily selected by the Minister of Bantu Education. A new Rector and a new Registrar have been similarly appointed.

- The following resolutions were passed by the Senate of the University College of Fort Hare at its meeting on 12.10.1959.
  - 1) Senate unanimously resolves to record its extreme regret at the action of the Minister of Bantu Education in disregarding normal University procedure by arbitrarily terminating the services of eight members of the academic and administrative staff.
  - 2) Senate desires to express sympathy with the following members of staff and records its confidence in their integrity and its appreciation of their valuable services to the University College of Fort Hare:

Lady Agnew : Head of the Department of Geography
Sir Fulque Agnew : Registrar
Mr. T.V.R. Beard : Head of the Department of Philosophy and Politics
Professor L. Blackwell : Head of the Department of Law
Mr. J. Hutton : Librarian
Mr. G.F. Israelstam : Lecturer in Botany
Professor F.H. Rand : Head of the Department of English
Professor D. Williams : Head of the Department of History

Senate records its appreciation of the valuable services rendered to the University College of Fort Hare by the Wardens of the Church Hostels (Ven. Archdeacon H.P. Rolfe, Rev. E.L. Cragg and Rev. J.S. Summers) who will be leaving at the end of the year due to the Department of Bantu Education assuming control of all hostels.

## 3. Dismissals

Council adopted the following resolution at its meeting on 26.11.1959:

The Governing Council has heard with the greatest regret of the termination of the employment of certain members of staff of the College who were appointed in good faith by the Council with the full knowledge of the Minister of Education, Arts and Science.

The Governing Council received no prior official notification of these dismissals or of the reasons necessitating them and dissociates itself entirely from this very unusual academic procedure on the part of the Government department concerned."