UNISA LIBRARY University of South Africa Archives

University of South Africa and its predecessor, the University of the Cape of Good Hope

Chancellors / Vice-Chancellors / Principals from 1873 to 2009

The history of the University of South Africa dates back to 1873, when the University of the Cape of Good Hope was established. Act 12 of 1916 decreed that the University of the Cape of Good Hope was to be incorporated in a federal University of South Africa. The Federal University did not teach, it was merely an Examining Board. When this Act was passed, two other Acts transformed the Victoria College into the University of Stellenbosch and incorporated the South African College in the University of Cape Town. The change was to be effected on 2 April 1918. There was no break in the continuity of the University, despite its new title, but its constitution was radically amended. Control was vested in a Council and Senate, upon which the following six constituent colleges were represented:

- Grey University College, Bloemfontein
- Huguenot College, Wellington
- Natal University College, Pietermaritzburg
- Rhodes University College, Grahamstown
- South African School of Mines and Technology, Johannesburg
- Potchefstroom University College which joined in 1921

With the exception of the Huguenot College, the colleges became independent universities between 1922 and 1951.

Professor Andries Jacobus Hendrik Johannes van der Walt was appointed Director of the Division of External Studies in February 1946. This was the beginning of the University of South Africa as a Distance Teaching Institution. Professor van der Walt remained Director of External Studies until 1953 when he became the first Principal of the University of South Africa.

Chancellors of the University of the Cape of Good Hope from 1876 to 1918

The Hon, William Porter, 1876 - 1880

The Right Hon. Sir Henry Bartle Edward Frere, 1880 - 1884

Henry Howard Molyneux Herbert, the Right Hon. the 4th Earl of Carnarvon, 1884 - 1890

Sir Langham Dale, 1890 - 1898

The Hon. Mr Justice Charles Thomas Smith, 1898 - 1901

H.R.H. Duke of Cornwall and York (later Prince of Wales and His Majesty King George V)

1901 - 1912

Field-Marshal H.R.H. Duke of Connaught and Stratheam, 1912 – 1918

Vice-Chancellors of the University of the Cape of Good Hope, from 1873 to 1918

Sir Langham Dale, 1873 - 1877; 1879 - 1882; 1884 - 1889.

The Hon. Sir Charles Abercrombie Smith, 1877 - 1879; 1905 - 1911

The Ven. Hopkins Badnall, 1882 - 1884

Justice Charles Thomas Smith, 1889 - 1893

The Rev. Canon George Ogilvie, 1893 - 1897

Sir Thomas Muir, 1897 - 1901

The Hon. Sir Ebenezer John Buchanan, 1901 - 1905

The Rev. Prof Thomas Walker, 1911 - 1913

Prof William Ritchie, 1913 - 1916

The Hon. Sir Malcolm William Searle, 1916 - 1918

Chancellors of the University of South Africa from 1918 to 2009

Field-Marshal H.R.H, Duke of Connaught and Stratheam, 1918 - 1942

Chief Justice the Right Hon. Nicolaas Jacobus de Wet, 1943 - 1951

Judge President the Hon. Gerhardus Jacobus Maritz, 1951 - 1957

Dr Francois Jean de Villiers, 1957 - 1977

Judge Victor Gustav Hiemstra, 1977 - 1987

Vacant 1988

Prof Theo van Wijk, 1989 - 1990

Dr Christoph Friedrich Garbers, September 1990 - 2000

Judge Bernard Makgabo Ngoepe, 2001 - 2009

Vice-Chancellors of University of South Africa, 1918 to 1955

Prof Willem Jacobus Viljoen, 1918 - 1922

Sir John Ernest Adamson, 1922 - 1926

The Rev John Daniel Kestell, 1926 - 1928

Hugh Bryan, 1928 - 1930

Dr Nicolaas Marais Hoogenhout, 1930 - 1932

Dr Samuel Henri Pellissier, 1932 - 1934

Prof Marthinus Christoffel Botha, 1934 -1936

François Daniël Hugo, 1936 - 1938

Senator François Stephanus Malan, 1938 - 1940

Prof Ferdinand Postma, 1940 - 1944

Adv Alfred Adrian Roberts, 1944 - 1946

Dr Herman Heinrich Gerhard Kreft, 1946 - 1948

Dr Albertus Johannes Roux van Rhijn, 1948 - 1952

Prof Stephanus Petrus Erasmus Boshoff, 1952 - 1955

Principals and Vice-Chancellors of the University of South Africa, from 1953 to 2009

Prof Andries Jacobus Hendrik Johannes Van der Walt, Principal, 1953 - 1955

Prof Andries Jacobus Hendrik Johannes Van der Walt, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, 1956

Prof Samuel Pauw, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, 1956 - 1972

Prof Theo van Wijk, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, 1972 - 1988

Prof Jan Casper Gerhardus Janse van Vuuren, Vice Chancellor and Principal, 1989 – 1993

Prof Marinus Wiechers, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, 1994 - 1997

Prof Antony Patrick Melck, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, 1998 (acting) and 1999 - 2001

Prof Nyameko Barney Pityana, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, 2002 -

Sources

Boucher, M. (1970). *The University of the Cape of Good Hope and the University of South Africa*, 1873 - 1946: a study in national and imperial perspective. Unpublished MA dissertation. University of South Africa: Pretoria

Boucher, M. & Brits JJ. (1973). Spes in Arduis: A history of the University of South Africa. University of South Africa: Pretoria

University of the Cape of Good Hope Calendars, 1876 – 1917

University of South Africa Calendars, 1918 - 2009

Compiled by

Herma van Niekerk Marié A Coetzee Updated January 2010